Full Time
7:50pm Thu September 24, 2020
Round 20 - Suncorp Stadium - Crowd: 17174

Match Overview

For the first time in 33 seasons the Brisbane Broncos have finished with the wooden spoon after going down to the North Queensland Cowboys 32-16 at Suncorp Stadium on Thursday evening.

Played before a crowd of 17,174 - the largest since the opening round - the Broncos were outscored six tries to three to suffer their 17th loss of the season and a club record 11th consecutive loss.

Getting off to the perfect start with Payne Haas (3rd minute) crossing for his first try of the year, the Broncos suffered a major blow minutes later with Kotoni Staggs assisted from the field with a suspected ACL injury.

Putting aside the disappointment of losing their best attacking player, retiring fullback Darius Boyd (13th minute) burrowed over from close range to put the home side up 12-0.

Striking back through Jake Clifford (20th minute) midway through the first half, the visitors looked to have another after Scott Drinkwater audaciously kicked from inside his own ten-metre line - only for the bunker to rule Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow offside from the kick.

Taking the lead after Kyle Feldt (28th minute) touched down and Justin O'Neill (38th minute) marked his late call-up with a four-pointer, the Cowboys took a 16-12 lead to the change of ends.

Levelling the scores at 16-all after Corey Oates (54th minute) touched down for his second try of the year, the Broncos failed to rise to the Cowboys' level over the final quarter of the match.

Finishing the match in impressive form with Drinkwater firing a beautiful pass to send Feldt (64th minute) over in the corner, the leading NRL try-scorer claimed his hat-trick (70th minute) after a brilliant run from Jason Taumalolo in the lead up.

Icing the result with a length of the field effort finished off by Tabuai-Fidow (76th minute), departing second rower Gavin Cooper nailed the final conversion to give the Cowboys a 32-16 victory.

The loss sees the Broncos finish a dreadful year in last-position with three wins, while the Cowboys will have plenty to improve upon under Todd Payten in 2021 after finishing in 14th position with five wins.

3. Scott Drinkwater

Setting up three tries with a superb display of attacking football, the 2020 Perth 9s Player of the Tournament finished the year on a high.

2. Kyle Feldt

Bagging a hat-trick to move to the top of the NRL's try-scoring list, the 2015 premiership hero was a star for the visitors.

1. Jason Taumalolo

Running for 250 metres, the powerhouse lock produced a number of strong runs.